Phased Learning

The content is designed in three learning phases: elementary, intermediate, and advanced. It is suitable for NCS students in primary or junior secondary school level. The learning focus of each phase is based on the Chinese Language Curriculum Second Language Learning Framework of Curriculum Development Council (2019). The self-study materials are designed according to the Language Proficiency Development Framework, which aims to build students’ competencies step by step.

Parallel Text of Spoken and Written Language

Formal textbooks and readings usually consist of only the written language, which leads to a major obstacle for NCS students who need to learn Chinese and speak Cantonese at the same time. Therefore, the texts, key words and sentences in “Living Chinese” are all lined with the spoken language to help students in understanding the difference between them.

Translation of 4 languages

Texts, key words and sentences are translated into four languages speak by the most NCS students in Hong Kong, including English, Nepali, Urdu and Hindi, to enhance students’ vocabulary for daily life.

Interactive Exercises for Listening, Speaking, Reading and Writing

There are basic language learning activities such as stroke order, choices, matching, Q&A, fill-in-the-blanks, linking and else. In addition, interactive learning activities are also included, such as audio and video recording, drawing, searching for information and more. This allows students to synchronize their visual, auditory and sensory organs to enhance the learning effect.

Learning with Family

NCS students lack opportunities to learn Chinese at home because most of their parents do not understand Chinese. The “Living Chinese” app provides parents with reading and activity materials so as to encourage parents to participate in children’s learning process and provide more Chinese-learning opportunities for the children. The parents can accompany with their children as they grow, cultivate the learning atmosphere in families, and make Chinese a part of students’ lives.

分階段學習

主題內容設計分初、中、高三個學習階段;適合小至初中非華語學生使用。每個學習階段的學習重點均參考課程發展議會中國語文第二語言學習架構的課程文件(2019); 根據語文能力發展框架設計自學教材,希望逐步建構學生的能力。

配有口語和書面語對照

正規教科書及讀物中一般只用書面語,對需要同時學中文及用廣東話口語的非華語學生是一大障礙。因此「生活學中文」的課文、重點詞語及句式均會有口語對照,有助學生理解兩者分別

四語翻譯

課文、重點字詞及句式配有四種香港最多非華語學生族裔的語文,包括(英文、尼泊爾文(Nepali)、烏都文(Urdu)、印地文(Hindi),以助學生建構日常生活詞彙

聽說讀寫互動練習

除有基本的語文學習活動如筆順丶選擇丶配對丶問答丶填充丶連線等題目外, 另有互動學習活動如錄音丶錄影、繪畫、搜尋資料等類型,讓學生在視覺、聽覺或感覺器官同步感應,加強學習效果

親子共學

多數非華語學生的父母並不懂中文,孩子家裡缺少使用中文的機會。「生活學中文」App為家長提供親子共讀及活動教材,希望父母能參與孩子的學習過程中,增加孩子學習中文的機會,並與孩子一同成長,培養家庭學習氣氛,讓中文成為學生生活的一部分